russian/english

Researchers   [previous page]

Andre Leroi-Gourhan (1911 - 1986)

 

The name of the French scientist Andre Leroi-Gourhan is known today to everyone, studing primitive history and primitive art in particular. He came into science when a great number of materials had already been accumulated and their new comprehension was required. Basing himself on the achievements of his forerunners - Edouard Piette, Henry Breuil and others, Leroi-Gourhan made a great contribution in the study of the Palaeolithic art. He wrote about 400 scientific publications in different fields of archaeology, ethnography, history of religion.

Andre Jorge Leandre Adolf Leroi-Gourhan was born in Paris in a family of an engineer. Still in his childhood he acquired a passion for natural history, having seen in the museums of his native city skeletons of the died out animals, bones of the Cro-Magnon man and the Neanderthal from Chapelle-ou-Sen, stone tools and ethnographical collections. In the oriental languages school in Sorbonna he first got a degree in Russian - in 1931, and then, in1933 - in Chinese philology. He got a Doctor's degree in 1935 in Sorbonne. In 1936 he went with an ethnographical expedition in the Far East. Acquaintance with the ethnographical collections of the Parisian and London museums, practical study in Japan formed Leroi-Gourhan's vast outlook, first as an ethnologist, studing the evolution of material culture and then - as an archaeologist, palaeoanthropologist, pri-historian, studing material and spiritual culture of the primitive man in detail.

In 1945 he was appointed as a deputy director of the Museum of the Man, then - Professor of the University in Lyon, since 1956 - Professor of Sorbonna, since 1963 director of the Ethnology Institute, an honored Professor in College de France, a member of the Institute of France ( an Academician).

Although Leroi-Gourhan has no purely ethnographical works, the ethnographical material is widely presented in his many significant publications: ("Evolution et technique" (1943-1945) in two volumes, "Le Geste et la parole" (1965), "Mecanique vivante" (1983).

Leroi-Gourhans's methodological working-outs in the field of practical archaeology were of great importance. Studing Palaeolithical sites of Arcy-sur-Cure and Pincevent, he had worked out a series of important for the European archaeology of that time principles of the excavation process ( a complex approach to the investigation of a monument, a complete stratigraphic investigation with the help of working pits and thorough clearing of layers, accurate fixation and registration of the received data, photography, drawings, models).

His studies in the cave paintings and prehistoric art are the most significant and interesting. In that field he has gathered many new facts and worked out his own methodological basis. His analysis of styles and comparison of petroglyphs with small form objects helped to create a new theory of style inconstancy in Palaeolithic paintings and basing on its real changes in time make chronology more accurate. Together with Annette Laming-Emperaire, Leroi-Gourhan developed Max Raphael's structuralistic approach, suggested in the middle of 30s, and spoke against direct ethnographical comparativism. He suggested to reveal the inner structure of the representations in themselves ("Les Religions de la Prehistoire", (1964), "Prehistoire de l'art occidental", (1965). In these works Leroi-Gourhan also put forward a hypothesis that the man's most ancient mythological notions about the world are reflected in the Palaeolithic paintings.

Andre Leroi-Gourhan was an outstanding organizer and teacher. He taught in the Lyons University, in Sorbonne, in College de France. In 1946 he organized a center of an ethnological education in the Museum of the Man, in 1948 - a documentation center of pre-historic studies and in 1962 - at the Chair of Ethnology in Sorbonne - a center of pre-historic and proto-historic studies.

In 1952 Leroi-Gourhan was elected the President of the French Pre-Historians' society. He also was a member of different scientific commissions, a participant and organizer of international scientific meetings. After Henry Breuil's death in 1961 he took up his place on the "pre-historic Olimpus"; he received many suggestions from the editors to write introductions to different publications. Being in the course of many years the editor of "Gallia Prehistoire" magazine he made this publication very authoritative in scientific circles.

Andre Leroi-Gourhan's activity was appraised according to his deserts. In 1974 he was awarded with the Golden medal of C.N.R.S. (National Center of scientific researches in France). In 1978 - Grande Prix of the national archaeology of the Ministry of Culture; in 1979 - the Golden Medal of the Academy of Architecture, national prize of the Fissen fund and Legion of Honour. In 1980 he became "immortal", that is he was elected in the Academy.

Not all the scientific theories were undoubtedly accepted by researchers, some of them did not stand the test of time, but on the whole Andre Leroi-Gouhran's scientific meaning is invaluable, and he is, for sure, the key figure in studing both Palaeolithic art and pre-historic culture in general.

Main publications:

LEROI-GOURHAN A. Le geste et la parole. TT. I - II Paris, 1964-65.
LEROI-GOURHAN A. Prehistoire de l'Art occidental. Paris. 1965 (1971,1998).
LEROI-GOURHAN A. Dictionaire de la prehistoire. Paris, 1988.

 


 

  

Музеи России -
Museums of Russia - WWW.MUSEUM.RU TopList

russian / english

Исследователи   [на предыдущую страницу]

Андре Леруа-Гуран
(1911 - 1986)

 

Имя французского ученого Андре Леруа-Гурана известно сегодня всем, кто изучает первобытную историю и особенно первобытное искусство. Он пришел в эту науку тогда, когда, уже было накоплено огромное количество материалов и требовалось новое их осмысление. Опираясь на достижения своих предшественников Эдуарда Пьетта, Анри Брейля и других, Леруа-Гуран внес огромный вклад в дело изучения палеолитического искусства. Его перу принадлежит около 400 научных публикаций в разных областях археологии, этнологии, истории религии.

Андре Жорж Леандр Адольф Леруа-Гуран родился в Париже, в семье инженера. Eщё в детстве он увлёкся естественной историей, увидев в музеях родного города скелеты вымерших животных, кости кроманьонца и неандертальца из Шапель-о-Сен, каменные орудия и этнографические коллекции.

В школе восточных языков Сорбонны он получил диплом сначала по русскому языку - в 1931, а затем - в 1933 - по китайской филологии. Степень доктора получил в 1935 г. в Сорбонне. В 1936 г. отправился с этнографической экспедицией на Дальний Восток. Знакомство с этнографическими коллекциями парижских и лондонских музеев, стажировка в Японии сформировали обширный научный кругозор Леруа-Гурана, сначала как этнолога, изучающего эволюцию материальной культуры, а затем - археолога, палеоантрополога, историка, всесторонне изучающего материальную и духовную культуру первобытного человека.

В 1945 г. он становится заместителем директора Музея Человека, затем - профессор университета в Лионе, с 1956 г. профессор Сорбонны, с 1963 г. директор Института этнологии, почетный профессор Коллеж де Франс, член Института Франции (академик).

Хотя чисто этнографичических работ у Леруа-Гурана нет, во многих значительных его работах широко представлен этнографический материал (Evolution et technique - Эволюция и техника (1943-1945) в двух томах, Le Geste et la parole - Жест и слово (1965), Mecanique vivante - Живая механика (1983).

Огромное значение имели методические разработки Леруа-Гурана в области практической археологии. Изучая палеолитические стоянки Арси-сюр-Кюр и Пенсован, он разработал целый ряд важных для европейской археологии того времени принципов ведения раскопок ( комплексный подход к изучению памятника, полное стратиграфическое исследование с помощью шурфов и тщательное послойная расчистка, точная фиксация и регистрация полученной в результате работ информации: фотографирование, рисунки, муляжи).

Наиболее значимы и интересны его исследования по пещерной живописи и первобытному искусству. В этой области он собрал много новых фактов и выработал свою методологическую базу. Его анализ стилей и сравнение наскальных изображений с предметами мелкой пластики позволили создать новую теорию изменчивости стиля в палеолитической живописи и на основе ее реальных изменений во времени уточнить хронологию. Вместе с Аннет Ламинь-Эмпрер Леруа-Гуран развил структуралистский подход Макса Рафаэля, предложенный в середине 30-х годов и выступил против прямолинейного этнографического компаративизма, предложив выявление внутренней структуры самих изображений, (Les Religions de la Prehistoire - Первобытные религии (1964), Prehistoire de l'art occidental - Доистория западного искусства (1965)). В этих же работах Леруа-Гуран высказал гипотезу о том, что в палеолитической живописи отражены самые ранние мифологические представления человека об окружающем мире.

Андре Леруа-Гуран был прекрасным организатором и педагогом. Он преподавал в Лионском университете, в Сорбонне, в Коллеж де Франс. В 1946 году он создал в Музее человека центр этнологического образования, в 1948 году - центр источниковедения доисторических исследований, а в 1962 году - на кафедре этнологии Сорбонны - центр доисторических и протоисторических исследований.

С 1952 года Леруа-Гуран был избран президентом Общества французских доисториков, он был также членом всевозможных научных комиссий, участником и организатором международных научных мероприятий. Заняв после смерти Анри Брейля в 1961 году место на "доисторическом Олимпе", он получает предложения от редакторов написать предисловия к всевозможным изданиям, будучи сам в течение многих лет редактором журнала Gallia Prehistoire, делает это изданиe весьма уважаемым в научных кругах.

Деятельность Андре Леруа-Гурана была оценена по заслугам. В 1974 г. он был награжден Золотой медалью C.N.R.S. (Национальный Центр научных исследований Франции). В 1978 - Гранд При национальной археологии Министерства культуры; в 1979 - Золотая Медаль Академии архитектуры, национальная премия фонда Фиссена и орден большого командора Почётного Легиона. В 1980 г. он стал "бессмертным", т.е. был избран в Академию.

Не все научные теории и положения были безусловно приняты исследователями, некоторые не выдержали проверки временем, но в целом научное значение Андре Леруа-Гурана бесценно, и он, безусловно является ключевой фигурой в деле изучения как палеолитического искусства, так и первобытной культуры в целом.

Основные труды:

LEROI-GOURHAN A. Le geste et la parole. TT. I - II Paris, 1964-65.
LEROI-GOURHAN A. Prehistoire de l'Art occidental. Paris. 1965 (переиздания в 1971 и 1998).
LEROI-GOURHAN A. Dictionaire de la prehistoire. Paris, 1988.

 


 

  

Музеи России -
Museums of Russia - WWW.MUSEUM.RU TopList