russian/english

Caves

Russia

  • Kapova

  • Spain
  • Altamira

  • France
  • Lascaux
  • Rouffignac
  • Niaux
  • Pech Merle
  • Cosquer
  • Chauvet

  • South America
  • Brasilia
  • Palaeolithic : Cave Paintings

     

    The Cosquer cave is located in the Ardeche department, on the Mediterranean coast, close to the mouth of the Rhone river, some miles from Marseilles. In 1985 a professional diver Henri Cosquer discovered a narrow passage some 36 meters under the level of the sea, which led, slightly rising, in the thick layer of the coast sedimentary rocks. He visited the passage several times, but every time he went back, not reaching its end, until in September 1985, he emerged finally into the main chamber about 160 meters from the entrance, full of the calcite draperies, crystals of aragonite and submerged stalagmites. He did not notice any paintings at first and kept his secret to himself, until in summer 1991 he returned to the close exploration of his cave. In July 1991 he saw the first painting- it was a hand stenciled in red on the dry wall of the large chamber. The entire French and European press was interspersed with sensation news.

    The answer to the first question (how did the entrance in the cave submerge deep in the water?) is rather simple. The last ice age had ended about 10-9 millenia and melting of the huge glacier began. The level of the World Ocean rose 120 meters high, if compared with the ice age. When the cave was visited by ancient people the entrance in the inclined passage was not under the water but, on the contrary, 80 meters above the sea level and 11 kms from the coast up the mountainside.

    The second question (how old are the paintings?) was answered soon after their discovery. Counting of the atom number of the radioactive carbon in the painting scrapes showed that the earliest depictions (hand stenciles made with black pigment on the base of charcoal) are almost 28000 years old, and the latest ones - almost 18000 years old (depictions of horses, ibex, seals and, probably, penguins, which lived there in the Ice Age).

    The Cosquer cave paintings will be studied for a long time. It is impossible to get into the cave without special equipment or being unexperienced in deep-sea swimming. In summer 1992 three divers perished there. After that dramatic incident the entrance in the underwater cave was closed and the passage was fitted with a lifeline. Only some specialists have visited the cave.The French Ministry of Culture set up a special commission to study the Cosquer cave, headed by a prominent specialist in Paleolithic art, General Conservator of the National Heritage, Jean Clottes. At the photo you can see Jean Courtin (at left), an archaeologist and diver, and Henri Cosquer, the discoverer of the cave.

    Jean Clottes (at left) and Jean Courtin wrote and published the book "La grotte Cosquer" and its english version "The Cave Beneath the Sea" with a great number of marvelous photos by Antoine Chene.


    Materials concerning the Cosquer cave are given in Internet:

  • LA GROTTE COSQUER

  • наверх

     


     

      

    Музеи России -
Museums of Russia - WWW.MUSEUM.RU TopList

russian / english

Пещеры

Россия

  • Капова

  • Испания
  • Альтамира

  • Франция
  • Ляско
  • Руффиньяк
  • Нио
  • Пеш-Мерль
  • Коске
  • Шове

  • Южная Америка
  • Бразилия
  • Палеолит : Пещерная живопись

     

    Пещера Коске находится в департаменте Ардеш, на средиземноморском побережье, близ устья Роны, в нескольких километрах южнее Марселя. В 1985 г. аквалангист Анри Коске (Henri Cosquer) обнаружил под водой, на глубине 36 м проход, уходивший с пологим подъемом в толщу береговых осадочных пород. Неоднократно, заплывая в этот проход, он всякий раз возвращался, не добравшись до его конца. Наконец, в июле 1991 г. он доплыл до того места, где в 160 м от входа подводный коридор выходил внутрь пещеры, верхняя часть которой была выше "ватерлинии". На сухих стенах пещеры оказались красочные изображения. Вся французская и европейская пресса запестрела сенсационными сообщениями.

    На первый вопрос (как вход в пещеру оказался глубоко под водой?) ответ довольно простой. Около 10-9 тыс. лет тому назад закончилась эпоха последнего оледенения и началось таяние огромных ледников. Уровень мирового океана поднялся на 120 м по сравнению с ледниковым периодом. В то время, когда пещера посещалась древними людьми, вход в наклонный коридор был не только не под водой, а почти на 80 м выше береговой линии и на расстоянии в 11 км от нее вверх по склону.

    На другой вопрос (какова древность живописи ?) ответ был получен вскоре после ее обнаружения. Подсчет числа атомов радиоактивного углерода в соскобах краски показал, что возраст самых ранних изображений (отпечатки ладоней, сделанные черной краской на основе угля) около 28 тыс. лет, а самых поздних - около 18 тыс. лет (изображения лошадей, козлов, тюленей и, по-видимому, пингвинов, которые жили здесь в ледниковый период).

    Живопись пещеры Коске еще долго будет находиться в стадии изучения. Без акваланга и высокого уровня мастерства в подводном плавании доступ в пещеру невозможен. Летом 1992 г. здесь погибли трое любителей подводного плавания. После этого печального инцидента, вход в подводную пещеру был закрыт, а вдоль всего коридора оборудована линия жизнеобеспечения. Пока здесь побывали только отдельные специалисты. Декретом министра культуры образована специальная комиссия по изучению пещеры Коске во главе с известным авторитетом по палеолитическому искусству, главным хранителем службы национального наследия Жаном Клоттом. На снимке вы видите археолога-аквалангиста Жана Куртэна (слева), и открывателя пещеры Анри Коске.

    Жан Клотт (слева) и Жан Куртэн написали и издали книгу "La grotte Cosquer" и ее английскую версию "The Cave beneath the Sea" c большим количеством прекрасных фотографий Антуана Шэнэ.


    Материалы о пещере Коске представлены в ИНТЕРНЕТ на сайте

  • LA GROTTE COSQUER

  • наверх

     


     

      

    Музеи России -
Museums of Russia - WWW.MUSEUM.RU TopList